Please check with the venue to confirm this event is running.

English Symphony Orchestra – Concert Series 2022/23


Dates: Sunday 16th Apr 2023

English Symphony Orchestra

Conductor Kenneth Woods
PianoNoriko Ogawa

Brahms Tragic Overture, Op.81
GriegPiano Concerto in A minor, Op.16
Sibelius Symphony No 5 in E flat, Op.82

Another much-loved favourite from the repertoire – Grieg’s only piano concerto, famous for its opening drumroll, poetic second movement and of course, Morecambe & Wise Andre Previn! – forms the centrepiece of tonight’s concert, with Japanese pianist Noriko Ogawa making her first Town Hall appearance.

The outer works are equally impressive, beginning with Brahms’ turbulent and tormented concert overture of 1888 and closing with a work that has often been voted the finest symphony of the 20th century – Sibelius’ Fifth. Only three movements long, but a masterpiece that signals how alive and well the Romantic language still was in 1915.

Please note there is a £2 ticket commission fee included in the price of the ticket.


More details about English Symphony Orchestra – Concert Series 2022/23 (External Link)


Cheltenham Town Hall

Gloucestershire's largest arts & entertainment venue!

See all listings from Cheltenham Town Hall

To sign up up for weekly newsletter, please click here.

Please mention when contacting this advertiser.

Disclaimer try to bring you details of the best local events. Amendments to the published details can occur, so please check with the venue if uncertain.