Masterworks Concert 69


Dates: Tuesday 12th Nov 2019

Ferruccio Busoni -Violin Sonata in e, opus 36a
Olivier Messiaen -Quartet for the End of Time

Emma Lisney violin
Michael Whight clarinet
Joy Lisney violoncello
James Lisney piano

One of the great chamber works of the twentieth century, Messiaen’s Quatour pour la fin du temps (1941) was written and premiered while the composer was a prisoner of war in German captivity. Sympathetic guards provided composition materials and isolation for compositional work and the prisoners made donations to purchase instruments for the performance. It is an extraordinarily communicative work, inspired by text from the Book of Revelations.

Ferruccio Busoni’s Second Sonata is a lyrical and impressive work from his first maturity. An opening slow movement conveys wistful sadness, the subsequent presto is a breathless tarantella and the final movement presents variations on Bach’s chorale ‘ Wie wohl its mir’.


More details about Masterworks Concert 69 (External Link)


Cheltenham Town Hall

Gloucestershire's largest arts & entertainment venue!

See all listings from Cheltenham Town Hall

To sign up up for weekly newsletter, please click here.

Please mention when contacting this advertiser.

Disclaimer try to bring you details of the best local events. Amendments to the published details can occur, so please check with the venue if uncertain.